Image
Menu Image

Nuts & Coeliac Disease


Are nuts gluten free/ can people with Coeliac Disease eat nuts?

Raw and roasted nuts are gluten free, and can be enjoyed by those with Coeliac disease, provided they don’t have any other flavourings added. Always check the ingredients list for any gluten containing additives such as thickeners or maltodextrins. In fact many gluten-free recipes make use of ground nuts instead of grain flours. Nut meals that include nut skins can provide extra fibre. Check out our gluten-free recipes - they are marked 'GF' in the title.

Last Update September 2016

Are nuts gluten free?

Raw and roasted nuts are gluten free provided they don’t have any other flavourings added. Always check the ingredients list for any gluten containing additives such as thickeners or maltodextrins. Nut meals such as almond, hazelnut and chestnut meals are a great alternative to gluten based flours. Adding nuts to a gluten free diet can also help boost the nutrient content of the diet, particularly fibre.

Check out our recipe section - those recipes marked 'GF' are gluten free.

Last update September 2016

Categories